DSCF20603
03.28 2014

Mobile against infant mortality

Benign diseases account for more than 50% of the causes of death among young children in Africa. In Mali, 1 in 5 children dies before age the age of 5. Yet these deaths could easily be prevented if these simple diseases were detected early enough.

The international NGO Pesinet innovates and develops the health system in Mali with amazing results. Its approach is based on a technological facility, the mobile phone, and an ethnographic field observation: if the symptoms are not detected early enough, it is because children do not have access to health centers. Pesinet has therefore invented a new ecosystem of care pathways that calls children with symptoms of childhood illnesses in the dispensaries.

How do they work? Pesinet created a new job, the health care field agent, who visits the families and transmits simple health data to the dispensary physicians, via their mobile phone. Medical teams then detect potential risks in these children. Then they simply have to call them for a medical examination. 93% of the notifications to come to the dispensaries reveal a disease that can be treated well in time.

(c) Photo Pesinet



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


8 × eight =

published on 03/28/2014 at 4:06 pm
#Africa #Afrique #Health #innovation sociale #Mobile #Santé #social innovation
(0) Comments

DSCF20603
28.03 2014

Le mobile contre la mortalité infantile

Les maladies bénignes représentent plus de 50% des causes de mortalité des jeunes enfants en Afrique. Au Mali, 1 enfant sur 5 meurt avant 5 ans. Pourtant, ces décès pourraient facilement être évités si ces maladies simples étaient détectées suffisamment tôt.

L’association de solidarité internationale Pesinet innove et fait évoluer le système de santé au Mali avec de stupéfiants résultats. Elle s’appuie sur une facilité technologique, le mobile, et sur une observation à caractère ethnographique : si les symptômes ne sont pas détectés suffisamment tôt, c’est parce que les enfants n’ont pas accès aux centres de soins. Pesinet a donc inventé un nouvel écosystème du parcours de soins qui appelle dans les dispensaires les enfants qui présentent des symptômes de maladies infantiles.

Pesinet a créé un nouveau métier, l’agent de santé de terrain, qui visite les familles et transmet des données sanitaires simples aux médecins des centres médicaux, via leur téléphone mobile. Les équipes de médecins détectent alors immédiatement les risques possibles chez ces enfants. Ils n’ont plus qu’à les convoquer pour un examen médical. 93% des convocations révèlent une maladie qu’on peut ainsi traiter à temps.

Photo : (c) Photo Pesinet



Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *


cinq + = 14

publié le 28/03/2014 à 04:06
#Afrique #innovation sociale #Mobile #Santé
(0) Commentaires